All that matters is the bottom line

All that matters is the bottom line
 
Date June 10, 2004
Section(s) Opinion
   
 
To the Editor:

… I worked for Maytag for a short time before I was laid off, with no chance of being re-hired. I was proud of the work I did there. And I think I speak for most of the factory workers who are still lucky enough to have their jobs, when I say it is a very sad situation, what is happening to the Maytag name and it’s product. It is very hard to recommend Maytag products when we all know that it is not the quality it once was.

Do these 3 paragraphs not mean anything any more?

QUALITY is the cornerstone of our business and dependability heritage.

WE are committed to continuously improve the quality of our products and processes.

OUR goal is to provide innovative, dependable laundry care products that consumers want to buy and are delighted to own.

I’m thinking, making a buck is more important than this quality policy… I realize all that matters is the bottom line for corporate Maytag. Nothing else really matters, does it?

I now happen to work for very nice and giving people. And all I can do is pray that they will be able to continue to live in and serve this community with their family for many years to come and allow me to work for them and continue to raise my children in Newton. But every Maytag employee that loses his/her job brings us all closer to the unemployment and welfare lines.

Maria Stanley

Newton

Leave a Reply

