Help workers in America

Help workers in America
 
Date October 14, 2004
Section(s) Opinion
Brief  
 
To the Editor:

My family and I pretty much live from paycheck to paycheck. My wife, Nicole, and I have three kids, one with a disability. We don’t have a lot, but we were living pretty well until I got laid off from Maytag this summer. It was a shock to lose my job and scary to think about how I was going to support my family. How were we going to pay the bills? What would we do without health insurance?

I was one of the lucky ones who got called back, but the experience was a wake-up call for me and my family. I was laid off again two weeks ago.

Now, it’s hard to hear this administration talking about how the economy has “turned the corner” and the country is growing again. I look at many of my friends who are out of a job and have no real prospects and, from my perspective, this is no turn-around.

We’ve lost a lot of good-paying jobs here in Iowa. Everyday, I read how we’re losing more. If Iowans are buying this “rebounding economy” story, then I have a bridge in London to sell. Why are our tax dollars building schools and creating jobs in other countries? We need leadership who tell us the truth and who help the workers in America.

Scott Danks

Newton

Leave a Reply

