Lack of concern was disheartening

Lack of concern was disheartening
 
Date September 08, 2005
Section(s) Opinion
Brief  
 
To the Editor:

I had no choice after attending the meeting at Maytag Park on Labor Day to take pen in hand. I was, for the first time in my life, very disheartened to see the lack of concern in Newton. Where were the city council members? I saw two. Where were the county supervisors? I saw one. I saw only two business owners. The governor of our state takes time out of his busy day to come to our town to address our concerns and there was maybe 150 to 175 people that showed up. That is not only wrong, it was shameful and disrespectful. The people of this community are all concerned with what is happening with Maytag Corporation but must have been too busy boating and camping or on a picnic to attend.

You’d better wake up, people! The bread box is tied directly to the ballot box.

Before the last elections, I told everyone what would happen if George Bush got re-elected — at least two supreme court justices would be replaced this term. It’s happening. Workers’ rights would continue on an accelerated downward pace. It’s happening. Not just here but all over the country.

We have two choices, start a grass-roots campaign to take this country back or keep our heads in the sand. I, for one, am not going to take this lying down. I’m mad enough at our city and county leaders for not being there that I will put my name on the ballot either for the council or supervisor. Somebody has to be willing to step up to the plate.

Last but not least, thanks to Mayor Allen for being there. You have always been there to answer our questions and concerns.

Jeff Breckenridge

Newton

Leave a Reply

