UAW members contribute a lot

UAW members contribute a lot
 
Date October 14, 2005
Section(s) Opinion
Brief  
 
To the Editor:

What will happen to Newton if Maytag shuts down? I’m sure I don’t know, but I believe that this town will come to understand how important the United Auto Workers Union has been to this community.

I have never seen an article or letter to the editor in the Newton Daily News about it, but the local 997 people over the years have donated thousands and thousands of dollars to organizations and causes that were of benefit to this community.

As a former shop chairman at the Winpower Corporation, I also was a member of the executive committee, where the votes were taken to give out with no strings attached, thousands of dollars. You probably never knew about it because the amounts were small. Fifty dollars here, $100 there. The money faucet of those great men and womenn of local 997 just kept running and I suspect it is still on today. All through the years, they have never bragged about it. There should be some way to thank them.

As for me, I’ll just say I am so proud to have been a member.

Olen Lambert

Newton

Leave a Reply

