Money isn’t everything

Money isn’t everything
 
Date May 16, 2006
Section(s) Opinion
Brief  
 
To the Editor:

My thoughts and prayers go out to everyone at Maytag. Although I’m on the other side of the world, I wish that I could be there today to support every man and woman who has faithfully worked at Maytag in Newton. It saddens me that an event like this had to occur. Just remember that money isn’t everything and that when one door closes, many more open up to you. Keep your families in mind. If jobs are lost, your future and your families are not. They will always be there for you in a time of need. I should know. I have been given the best thing there is in life: a loving family. Through this hard time in my life of being over in Iraq, my concerns still sit at home with the Maytag workers. The people formed the town, not a corporation.

Although my mind should be on the war, I worry about the events at home. Sometimes I imagined this as the worst thing that could ever happen to someone — to go to war and face the risk of dying. But that isn’t so. I have it good compared to those at home (the food could use some work). I couldn’t imagine, and hope I never have to experience working at a company for two years or 37 years and then have it all taken away.

There are many opportunities out there. You control your destiny by the decisions you make in life. I know in my heart that Whirlpool isn’t blind to what we have to offer. I just want everyone who reads this to know that my father, Dale Reynolds, my mother, Jayne Reynolds, and I are keeping everyone in our thoughts, prayers and especially in our hearts during this most stressful time.

No matter what the outcome, I want you all to know that the troops support you! Keep your heads up! And I hope to see you all and shake your hands for your hard work upon my return.

SPC Jeremy Reynolds

Iowa Army National Guard

Leave a Reply

