We’re all in this together

We’re all in this together
 
Date May 18, 2006
Section(s) Opinion
Brief  
 
To the Editor:

I am an eighth grade student at B.C. Berg Middle School. Within a year my dad and many others will lose their jobs at Maytag. How could someone do this to a small town with hard workers? Sure, many new businesses will be coming but the pay won’t be high. A change from $20 to $8 an hour is drastic. I hope the big CEO and executives of Whirlpool are happy for doing this. Our factory is a good factory and putting some money into fixing it up would have been great.

My sister lives in Marion, Ohio, where there is a Whirlpool plant. Their plant is not one bit better than ours. There is no “state-of-the-art” about that plant. I’m not dissing it but I’ve seen a lot better and I’m not saying ours is better either.

We have strong working families trying to make a living who work hard for what they do. Why did Whirlpool have to take it away? Money isn’t everything. One of these days there will be no jobs for hard working Americans because they will all be over seas.

I’d like to thank the government for doing what they can to help us but the $10 million they are giving to us, why couldn’t they have given it to Maytag when they were almost bankrupt instead of before it was too late and Maytag had to sell?

To finish off, I’d like to say Maytag workers are in my prayers and I hope everything works out for you guys. Whirlpool I hope you think about what you did just to get ahead. Maytag was great and is great. I love looking at the Maytag washers at the Newton museum. It makes me sad to think Mr. Maytag wouldn’t have wanted this. It’s OK Newton, we’re all in this together and we just need to cope and move on.

Mercedes Rutherford

Newton

Leave a Reply

