Lester Crown resigns from Maytag’s board of directors

Lester Crown resigns from Maytag’s board of directors
 
Date September 01, 2005
Section(s) Local News
Brief  
 
By PETER HUSSMANN

Editor

Lester Crown, a member of Maytag‘s board of directors since the purchase of the Hoover appliance brand in 1989, announced his resignation effective Tuesday.

Crown, 80, resigned to pursue other personal and professional obligations, a statement released late Wednesday said.

“I have enjoyed the opportunity to be part of Maytag‘s board and to work with its directors and management in service to shareholders,” the statement said. “However, now that we have reached a merger agreement, I have fulfilled my obligation to the shareholders and believe it is time for me to concentrate on other commitments.”

Crown took a position on the Maytag board as a result of Maytag‘s acquisition of Chicago Pacific Corp., in January 1989. Maytag paid $384 million to acquire 6.4 million Chicago Pacific stock shares at $60 each. Neal Sterns was also placed on the Maytag board as part of the Chicago Pacific acquisition.

Crown, chairman of Henry Crown and Co., an investment firm based in the Chicago area, is listed by Forbes magazine as the world’s 144th richest man with a net worth of $3.8 billion. Reports indicate he and his family control as much as 4.1 million Maytag shares making Whirlpool’s $21 per share buyout offer worth as much as $86 million.

Crown’s current term on the board would have expired in 2006. The Maytag board now has nine independent board members and Ralph Hake, Maytag‘s CEO. Board members are paid $35,000 a year plus $1,250 for each meeting attended plus expenses. Members also receive an annual stock option grant of 3,000 shares.

9 Responses to “Lester Crown resigns from Maytag’s board of directors”

  1. Etsuko Says:

    I am extremely impressed along with your writing talents as well as with the format for your

    weblog. Is that this a paid topic or did you modify it

    yourself? Either way keep up the excellent high quality writing, it is

    rare to peer a nice weblog like this one nowadays..

  2. Retha Says:

    Thank you for any other informative web site. The

    place else could I get that kind of information written in such a

    perfect way? I have a venture that

    I am just now running on, and I’ve been on the glance out for

    such information.

  3. http://demiurgestudios.com Says:

    I used to be very happy to find this

    internet-site.I wanted to thanks in your time for this

    excellent learn!! I undoubtedly enjoying every

    little little bit of it and I’ve you bookmarked to take a look at new stuff you blog post.

  4. weather forecast velez malaga malaga spain Says:

    I have recently started a site, the information you offer on this
    web

    site has helped me greatly. Thanks for all of your time & work.

  5. Earnest Says:

    Nice weblog right here! Also your web site
    so

    much up very fast! What host are you the use of? Can

    I get your associate link to your host? I

    wish my web site loaded up as fast as yours lol

  6. nicest resort costa blanca Says:

    I definitely wanted to make a brief note in order to

    express gratitude to you for the

    awesome facts you are posting on this website. My time consuming internet search has at the
    end been paid with

    reliable points to go over with my friends. I would declare
    that many of us readers actually are truly lucky to exist in a
    useful

    site with so many perfect people with

    valuable concepts. I feel

    quite blessed to

    have come across the web pages and look forward to some more enjoyable

    times reading here. Thanks a lot once again for

    everything.

  7. Joel Says:

    You could definitely see your expertise in the paintings you

    write. The world hopes for more passionate writers such as you who

    are not afraid to say how they believe. Always follow your heart.

  8. Property Costa Blanca Spain Says:

    It’s really a cool and helpful piece of info.

    I am glad that you

    shared this useful info with us. Please keep us informed like this.
    Thanks for

    sharing.

  9. Bobby Says:

    Thanks , I have recently been looking for info about this

    subject for ages and yours is the greatest I’ve discovered so far.
    But, what about the

    conclusion? Are you sure about the source?

Leave a comment